The word paneer is Persian and means “cheese”. The exact origins of paneer are not known, but there are written references in the Vedas, which date back to 6000 BC, which seem to describe paneer without calling it by name.
Although there is a centuries old tradition of dairy products in India due to its large cattle population, cheese has fallen into and out of favor. It was possibly the Portuguese settlers in Calcutta in the 1600’s that brought about the modern appreciation for paneer. Those settlers brought their own versions of fresh cheese such as queijos frescos with them from their homeland and over time, the recipes and techniques adapted. Now paneer is used in a variety of dishes from savory curries to sweet desserts.
Paneer is a fresh, unsalted cheese that is made without the use of rennet.
Milk and an acid such as lemon juice, lime juice, or vinegar